Skip to main content

Here Are This Year’s Toronto Theatre Critics Award Winners

iPhoto caption: Top winners (clockwise from top left): John, 887, Come From Away
/ May 25, 2017

Toronto critics were divided on this year’s best play: John, produced by The Company Theatre, and 887, produced by Ex Machina/Canadian Stage, tied for Best Production at the 2017 Toronto Theatre Critics Association.

John also won for Best International Play and Best Supporting Actress (for Nora McLellan as an eccentric blind bed and breakfast guest).

887 also won for Best Design (for the intricate to-scale model of Robert Lepage’s childhood home).

Come From Away was the big winner in the musical category, picking up awards for Best New Musical, Best Production of a Musical, and Best Director (for Christopher Ashley).

Obsidian Theatre Company walked away with the most awards, winning five in total. Mastor Harold… and the Boys, a co-production with Shaw, won for Best Actor (André Sills), Best Supporting Actor (James Daly), and Best Director (the company’s artistic director Philip Akin). The musical Passing Strange won acting awards for Beau Dixon (Best Actor) and Vanessa Sears (Best Supporting Actress).

Other shows nominated include Mirvish’s Matilda, Théâtre Français/Pleiades’ The Post Mistress, Quote Unquote’s Mouthpiece, and Why Not’s Prince Hamlet.

This year’s judges were J. Kelly Nestruck of The Globe and Mail, Carly Maga and Karen Fricker of the Toronto Star, Robert Cushman of the National Post, Glenn Sumi of NOW Magazine, Steve Fisher of Torontoist, Lynn Slotkin of Slotkin Letter, Christopher Hoile of Stage Door, and freelancer Martin Morrow, whose theatre writing has appeared in Torontoist, The Globe and Mail, and Toronto Life.

The awards will be presented to the winners at The Globe and Mail Centre on June 19, and the ceremony will include a special citation to Jon Kaplan, given by his former colleague Glenn Sumi.

The full list of nominees is below.

General Theatre

Best Supporting Actor in a Play

James Daly, Master Harold… and the Boys (Obsidian Theatre Company / Shaw Festival)

Best Supporting Actress in a Play

Nora McLellan, John (The Company Theatre)

Best Actor in a Play

André Sills, Master Harold… and the Boys (Obsidian Theatre Company / Shaw Festival)

Best Actress in a Play

Dawn Jani BirleyPrince Hamlet (Why Not Theatre)

Best Director of a Play

Philip Akin, Master Harold… and the Boys (Obsidian Theatre Company / Shaw Festival)

Best Design

Robert Lepage, Jean-Sébastian Côté, Laurent Routhier, and Félix Fradet-Faguy, 887  (Ex Machina, presented by Canadian Stage)

Best International Play

John by Annie Baker (The Company Theatre)

Best Canadian Play

Mouthpiece by Norah Sadava and Amy Nostbakken (Quote Unquote Collective)

Best Production of a Play

John (The Company Theatre)


887 (Ex Machina, presented by Canadian Stage)

Musical Theatre

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical

Dan Chameroy, Matilda the Musical (Mirvish)

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical

Vanessa Sears, Passing Strange (The Musical Stage Company and Obsidian Theatre)

Best Actor in a Musical

Beau Dixon, Passing Strange (The Musical Stage Company and Obsidian Theatre)

Best Actress in a Musical

Patricia Cano, The Post Mistress  (Théâtre Français de Toronto and Pleiades Theatre)

Best Director of a Musical

Christopher Ashley, Come From Away (Mirvish)

Best Production of a Musical

Come From Away (Mirvish)

Best New Musical

Come From Away by David Hein and Irene Sankoff (Mirvish)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Announcing the 2022 Siminovitch Prize Live-Streamed Awards

The live-streamed awards will feature four short documentaries showcasing the exceptional artistry of the 2022 Siminovitch Prize finalists.

By Jessica Watson

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Award Winners

Congratulations to all the winners!

By Mae Smith
iPhoto caption: Deanna H. Choi (left) Photo by Anja Cui / Monica Esteves (right) Photo by Dahlia Katz.

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards Ancillary Award Winners

Congratulations to Deanna H. Choi, Monica Esteves, and Beth Wong!

By Mae Smith

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards Nominees Announced

Announcing the nominees for the 2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards - Virtual Edition!

By Mae Smith

2020 Toronto Theatre Critics’ Award Winners Announced

The Toronto Theatre Critics' Awards announce the winners of the 2019-2020 season and set the date for the online awards ceremony.

By Mae Smith

Nomination Announcements: 40th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards

Now announcing the nominees for the 40th Dora Mavor Moore Awards!

By Mariam Ahmed