2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards Ancillary Award Winners

Deanna H. Choi (left) Photo by Anja Cui / Monica Esteves (right) Photo by Dahlia Katz.

During the streamed media announcement for the 2020 Dora Awards, the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) announced the winners for The Pauline McGibbon Award and the Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award, the latter presented for the first time in tandem with the Victor C. Polley Protégé Award as the winner selects the recipient of the Protégé award.

The winners are listed below.

2020 Pauline McGibbon Award

Winner: Deanna H. Choi

Photo by Anja Cui.

Choi is Toronto-based sound designer that has worked across Canada in theatres like Soulpepper Theatre, Tarragon Theatre, Crow’s Theatre, the Shaw Festival, Theatre Calgary, and Neptune Theatre.

The Pauline McGibbon Award was established in 1981 for McGibbon’s support to the arts. The award is presented to an professional artist who is an Ontario resident and in the early stages of their career and has “contributed to the well-being of Ontario’s theatre community, displays unique talent and has the potential for excellence.”

2020 Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award

Winner: Monica Esteves

Photo by Dahlia Katz.

Esteves is an arts manager who has 20 years experience as an artistic leader. Esteves was previously the Managing Director at Nightwood Theatre, the Managing Director at Crow’s Theatre, and is currently the Executive Director at Canadian Stage.

This award was started in 2008 by the late Elizabeth Comper who named it after Leonard McHardy and John Harvey who are the co-founders of Toronto’s Theatrebooks (1974-2014). The award honours a senior theatre, dance, or opera administrator with a minimum of 10 years devoted to the performing arts having impacted the industry in Toronto.

2020 Victor C. Polley Protégé Award

Winner: Beth Wong

Photo Sooji Kim

This award was selected for by the winner of the Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award, Monica Esteves. Wong is the Company Manager at Canadian Stage, having previously worked front of house and as a stage manager.

The Victor C. Polley Protégé Award was established in 1981 by the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts to honour “a much-respected arts administrator” upon Polley’s retirement as Theatre Manager at the centre.


For more information on the awards, visit the TAPA website.


Leave a Reply

We’d love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a comment below, but please read our conditions first: 1) Be respectful, 2) Please don’t spam us, 3) We will remove any comments that contain hate speech, pornography, harassment, personal attacks, defamatory statements, or threats. Thanks for your understanding.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written By

Mae Smith is a former associate editor for Intermission Magazine. She is a lighting designer, props builder, stagehand, and sometimes-critic. Outside of theatre, she is a crafter and a Pisces.