2020 Toronto Theatre Critics’ Award Winners Announced

Now in its 10th year, the Toronto Theatre Critics’ Awards celebrated the work Toronto’s professional theatres in the shortened 2019-2020 season.

Notably among the winners is a double win in the Best Director category for outgoing Obsidian Theatre Artistic Director Philip Akin, who was awarded for both Actually and Pass Over. The awards also include a special nod to Outside the March for their creativity in the face of restrictions due to COVID-19.

This year, the jury members were Paula Citron, Robert Cushman, Steve Fisher, Karen Fricker, Carly Maga, Martin Morrow, Lynn Slotkin, and Glenn Sumi.

The awards ceremony will be hosted on the AFC’s Youtube channel on June 22, 2020 at 7pm ET, doubling as a fundraiser for the national charity.

List of 2020 TTCA Winners

Play Division

Best New Canadian Play

The Jungle
by Anthony MacMahon and Thomas McKechnie
(Tarragon Theatre)

Best International Play

The Flick
by Annie Baker
(Outside the March & Crow’s Theatre)

Best Lead Performance in a Play

Daren A. Herbert
Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train
(Soulpepper Theatre)

Amy Rutherford
A Streetcar Named Desire
(Soulpepper Theatre)

Best Supporting Performance in a Play

Sarah Dodd
Marjorie Prime
(Coal Mine Theatre)

Best Ensemble Performance in a Play

Colin Doyle, Amy Keating, Durae McFarlane, and Brendon McMurtry-Howlett
The Flick
(Outside the March & Crow’s Theatre)

Kaleb Alexander, Mazin Elsadig and Alex McCooeye
Pass Over
(Obsidian Theatre)

Best Director of a Play

Philip Akin
(Harold Green Jewish Theatre Co. and Obsidian Theatre Co.)

Philip Akin
Pass Over
(Obsidian Theatre Co.)

Best Production of a Play

The Flick
produced by Outside the March & Crow’s Theatre

Musical Division

Best Lead Performance in a Musical

Jully Black
Caroline, or Change
(Musical Stage Co. & Obsidian Theatre Co.)

Chilina Kennedy
The Band’s Visit
(Mirvish Productions)

Best Supporting Performance in a Musical

Vanessa Sears
Caroline, or Change
(Musical Stage Co. & Obsidian Theatre Co.)

Best Ensemble Performance in a Musical

Beau Dixon, Hailey Gillis, Kira Guloien, and Andrew Penner
Ghost Quartet
(Crow’s Theatre and Eclipse Theatre Co.)

Best Director of a Musical

Marie Farsi
Ghost Quartet
(Crow’s Theatre and Eclipse Theatre Co.)

Conor McPherson
Girl from the North Country
(Mirvish Productions)

Best Production of a Musical

The Band’s Visit
produced by Orin Wolf, Stylesfour Productions, Evamere Entertainment, Atlantic Theater Co. et al., presented by David Mirvish

Best Design, Play or Musical

Nick Blais, Nick Bottomley, Anahita Dehbonehie and Richard Feren
The Flick
(Outside the March, Crow’s Theatre)

Special Citation – For Creative Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic

The Ministry of Mundane Mysteries
by Outside the March

Leave a Reply

We’d love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a comment below, but please read our conditions first: 1) Be respectful, 2) Please don’t spam us, 3) We will remove any comments that contain hate speech, pornography, harassment, personal attacks, defamatory statements, or threats. Thanks for your understanding.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written By

Mae Smith is a former associate editor for Intermission Magazine. She is a lighting designer, props builder, stagehand, and sometimes-critic. Outside of theatre, she is a crafter and a Pisces.