Skip to main content

Nomination Announcements: 40th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards

/By / May 28, 2019

The nominations for the 40th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards have been announced! Named after the pioneering Canadian actress, director, and teacher— these awards highlight and celebrate the best of professional theatre, dance, and opera in Toronto. As TAPA announced in April of 2018, all previous “Outstanding performance by a male or female” titles have been replaced with gender-inclusive titles. The awards show is the first in Canada to lead with a fully gender-inclusive policy. This year the awards will be hosted by multi-award winner Rick Miller and will take place on Tuesday, June 25 at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. (You can read about last year’s nominees and winners here.)

Presenting the highlights:

  • Soulpepper Theatre leads with 25 nominations, 14 nominations spanning 5 productions in the General Theatre Division and 11 nominations in the Musical Theatre Division
  • The Musical Stage Company and Young People’s Theatre are tied in the Musical Theatre Division with 14 nominations each
  • Coal Mine Theatre is the front runner in the Independent Theatre Division with 10 nominations 
  • The Canadian Opera Company leads in the Opera Division with 33 nominations 
  • Danceworks soars in the Dance Division with 13 nominations 
  • Solar Stage leads the Theatre for Young Audiences Division with 10 nominations

Full breakdown for the GENERAL THEATRE and INDEPENDENT THEATRE divisions below.

For details on the MUSICAL THEATRE, OPERA, DANCE, THEATRE FOR YOUNG AUDIENCES, and TOURING divisions please visit the TAPA website.

General Theatre

Outstanding Production:

Outstanding New Play:

Outstanding Direction:

Outstanding Performance in a Leading Role:

Outstanding Performance in a Featured Role:

Outstanding Scenic/Projection Design:

Outstanding Costume Design:

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Outstanding Sound Design/Composition:

Independent Theatre

Outstanding Production:

Outstanding New Play:

Outstanding Direction:

Outstanding Performance of an Individual:

Outstanding Ensemble Performance:

Outstanding Scenic/Projection Design:

  • Anahita Dehbonehie, Hand to God (Coal Mine Theatre)
  • Gillian Gallow, The Runner (Human Cargo)
  • Hans Saefkow (Scenic Design), Andy Moro with Melissa Joakim (Projection Design), Isitwendam (Native Earth presents a Bound to Create Theatre Production)
  • Michelle Tracey and Triga Creative (Scenic Design), Wesley McKenzie (Projection Design), The Scavenger’s Daughter (PARADIGM productions)
  • Patrick Lavendar (Scenic Design), Nick Bottomley (Projection Design), The Nether (Coal Mine Theatre/ Studio 180 Theatre)

Outstanding Costume Design:

  • Christine Urquhart, Iphigenia and the Furies (On Taurian Land) (Saga Collectif)
  • Jennifer Lee Arsenault, 1979 (Michael Healey/Marcie Januska/Miles Potter)
  • Justin Miller, Pearle Harbour’s Chautauqua (Pearle Harbour/Theatre Passe Muraille)
  • Melanie McNeill, Space Opera Zero! (Eldritch Theatre)
  • Ming Wong, The Cherry Orchard, (Modern Times Stage Company)

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Outstanding Sound Design/Composition:

Ancillary Award Winners

Leonard McHardy & John Harvey Award for Leadership in Administration:

  • Sherrie Johnson, Crow’s Theatre

George Luscombe Mentorship Award:

  • Jacquie P. A. Thomas, Theatre Gargantua

Pauline McGibbon Award for Unique Talents and Potential for Excellence:

  • Ksenia Ivanova, Toronto-based scenic artist

The Silver Ticket Award and the Jon Kaplan Audience Choice Award:

  • These awards will be given out during the Dora Awards Show on June 25th, 2019.
Mariam Ahmed

Mariam Ahmed

Mariam is Associate Editor at Intermission. Mariam earned her Honours BA in English literature from York University and recently completed a Graduate Certificate program from Centennial College in Book and Magazine Publishing. When she's not busy reading books and plays, she takes pictures of books for her "Bookstagram", watches as many movies and shows as she can, and is a self-proclaimed Chocoholic.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Announcing the 2022 Siminovitch Prize Live-Streamed Awards

The live-streamed awards will feature four short documentaries showcasing the exceptional artistry of the 2022 Siminovitch Prize finalists.

By Jessica Watson

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Award Winners

Congratulations to all the winners!

By Mae Smith
iPhoto caption: Deanna H. Choi (left) Photo by Anja Cui / Monica Esteves (right) Photo by Dahlia Katz.

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards Ancillary Award Winners

Congratulations to Deanna H. Choi, Monica Esteves, and Beth Wong!

By Mae Smith

2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards Nominees Announced

Announcing the nominees for the 2020 Dora Mavor Moore Awards - Virtual Edition!

By Mae Smith

2020 Toronto Theatre Critics’ Award Winners Announced

The Toronto Theatre Critics' Awards announce the winners of the 2019-2020 season and set the date for the online awards ceremony.

By Mae Smith

Nomination Announcements: 39th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards

The nominees for the 39th Dora Mavor Moore Awards have been announced!