Skip to main content

Announcement: 39th Annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards

/ Mar 27, 2018

Happy World Theatre Day! To celebrate, the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts has announced the date and host of the thirty-ninth Dora Mavor Moore Awards.

The 2018 ceremony, produced by TAPA’s executive director Jacoba Knaapen, will take place on Monday June 25 at the Elgin’s Winter Garden Theatre and will be hosted by award-winning actor Astrid Van Wieren, who originated the role of Beulah in the landmark Canadian musical Come From Away—and is also one of the stars of this smash hit currently on Broadway.

The multi-talented Emmy-, Gemini-, and Dora-nominated Diane Flacks will pen the celebratory evening for her third year in a row, while acclaimed theatre director, actor, and writer Ed Roy takes the helm as director for his sixth time. Multi-award-winning lighting and production designer Andrea Lundy returns for her seventeenth consecutive year.

Van Wieren is a graduate of Toronto’s Ryerson Theatre School and a Dora Award–winning actress for This Wide Night. She originated the roles of Germaine in Belles Soeurs – The Musical and Sheilagh Fielding in The Colony of Unrequited Dream, and was in the North American premiere of Mamma Mia! She co-wrote, co-produced, and stars in the indie feature The River You Step In.

Diane Flacks recently wrote and starred in Unholy for Nightwood Theatre, nominated for a 2017 Dora Award for Outstanding New Play. Other plays include Myth Me, Waiting Room, and By a Thread, and her TV writing includes Working the Engels, Working Moms, and Baroness Von Sketch Show.

The Doras are named for Dora Mavor Moore (1888–1979), a well-loved teacher and director who helped establish Canadian professional theatre in the 1930s and 1940s. Recognizing the outstanding achievements in Toronto’s performing arts industry, the awards honour the creators of over two hundred theatre, dance, and opera productions annually in the following divisions: General Theatre, Independent Theatre, Musical Theatre, Dance, Opera, and Theatre for Young Audiences. Nominees will be announced at a press conference on May 31 at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, where the Pauline McGibbon Award and the Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award for Outstanding Leadership in Administration will also be given out.

For tickets to the ceremony, or for more information, click here


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

lighthouse festival iPhoto caption: Jane Spence and Derek Ritschel. Photo courtesy of Lighthouse Festival.

Lighthouse Festival announces shake-up in artistic director role

“I couldn’t have imagined how great this theatre would become, thanks to the support of our incredible community and the unwavering dedication of our team,” says Derek Ritschel, who will pivot to a new role as the company’s director in residence. Jane Spence will step into the role of artistic director in November.

By Aisling Murphy
toronto fringe iPhoto caption: Photo courtesy of the Toronto Fringe.

The Delightful Chaos of Mistila and the Motlies promises merriment at the Toronto Fringe

This summer, Down and Dirty Theatre Company will bring its show The Delightful Chaos of Mistila and the Motlies to the Toronto Fringe Festival. The show, billed as “a magical...

By Aisling Murphy
Poster for Guild Festival Theatre's presentation of Evalyn Parry's SPIN. iPhoto caption: Poster courtesy of GFT.

Guild Festival Theatre to present one-night-only concert version of Evalyn Parry’s SPIN

Inspired in part by the incredible true story of Annie Londonderry, who in 1895 became the first woman to ride around the world on a bicycle, SPIN travels from 19th-century women’s emancipation to the present day, forging unexpected links across time and history.

By Liam Donovan
Poster for Snacey! at the Toronto Fringe iPhoto caption: Photo courtesy of Dos Mundos

A whimsical TYA solo show about a talking snake is coming to the Toronto Fringe

Written and performed by Priscila Gonzalez, Snacey! is a high-energy tale right out of an early-2000s TVOkids television program.

By Liam Donovan
dora awards iPhoto caption: Photo of Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 by Dahlia Katz.

Toronto theatre wins big at the 2024 Dora Awards

The winners of the 2024 Dora Awards were announced on Monday in a lively ceremony hosted by Ryan G. Hinds at the Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre.

By Aisling Murphy
Production photo of The Inheritance, winner of this year's TTCA for Best Production of a Play, iPhoto caption: The Inheritance production photo by Dahlia Katz.

Toronto Theatre Critics’ Awards announce 2024 winners

This 11th iteration of the TTCAs boasts 19 winners across 14 categories, including a special citation for artistic achievement.

By Liam Donovan